World News

Prime Minister’s meeting with the UK Parliament’s APPKG Chair, Ms. Debbie Abrahams, led delegation

Islamabad: A cross-party delegation of UK Parliamentarians, led by Ms. Debbie Abrahams, Chair of All-Parties Parliamentary Kashmir Group (APPKG), called on Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The Prime Minister commended the Group’s consistent focus on the Jammu & Kashmir dispute and noted the important contribution made by its earlier reports on the human rights situation in the Indian Occupied Jammu & Kashmir (IOJ&K).

The Prime Minister apprised the delegation of the dire human rights and humanitarian conditions in IOJ&K in the aftermath of India’s illegal and unilateral actions of 5 August 2019. He underlined that 8 million Kashmiris were under a military siege for the past six months, with all their rights and freedoms taken away from them. The Prime Minister also highlighted the threat to peace and security posed by the Indian leadership’s belligerent rhetoric and aggressive actions on the ground.

The Prime Minister further underlined that the RSS-inspired BJP government’s Hindutva ideology was squeezing the Kashmiris in IOJ&K on the one hand and constricting the space for India’s minorities on the other hand. The Prime Minister also highlighted that India could resort to “false flag” operation in order to divert international attention from its unacceptable actions in IOJ&K.

The Prime Minister said Pakistan believed that a just and lasting solution of the Jammu & Kashmir dispute was essential for peace, security and stability in South Asia. He underscored that the international community had a responsibility in raising awareness about India’s crimes against humanity and putting pressure on India for the implementation of the UN Security Council resolutions on Jammu & Kashmir. The Prime Minister reiterated Pakistan’s commitment to support the Kashmiri people in their struggle for justice and inalienable right for self-determination.

​The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Kashmir is a cross-party group of Parliamentarians in the British Parliament. The delegation comprised Members of Parliament from across UK and includes MPs Debbie Abrahams, Imran Hussain, Sarah Britcliffe, James Daly,​Tahir Ali, Judith Cummins, Mark Eastwood, Lord Qurban Hussain, and Yasmine Dar, Member NEC of Labour Party.

Related Articles

Back to top button