Kashmir Conference on human rights day was held at the British Parliament

London: A landmark Kashmir conference convened within the British Parliament in London to commemorate International Human Rights Day, with the event presided over by British Parliament member Peter Brough Paul Bristow and hosted by Tehreek-e-Kashmir UK President Raja Fahim Kayani.

During the conference, strong reactions were voiced against the Indian Supreme Court’s pivotal decision favoring the special status of Kashmir, as well as the abrogation of Article 370 and 35A.

Lord Qurban Hussain of the House of Lords and Members of Parliament, including Kate Holleran, Sara Bratcliffe, Steve Baker, Marco Longhi, Muhammad Yasin, Tahir Ali, Jess Phillips, Sarah Owen, Debbie Abraham, Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi, and others, delivered speeches expressing solidarity with the oppressed Kashmiri people and condemning human rights violations and war crimes in Occupied Kashmir. Kashmiri leaders, namely Abdul Hameed Lone, Mumzamil Ayub Thakur, Muhammad Ashraf Chaghtai, Rehana Ali, Gurcharan Singh, and others, recounted the harrowing tales of atrocities suffered by the oppressed Kashmiri population, eliciting deep regret from members of the British Parliament.

The conference concluded with Tehreek-e-Kashmir UK President Raja Fahim Kayani presenting a significant resolution pertaining to International Human Rights Day, which garnered majority approval through a vote. Additionally, the event was attended by President Tehreek Kashmir Birmingham Chaudhry Ikram ul Haq, Chaudhry Muhammad Sharif, Raja Abdul Qayyum, Nazir Khan, Muhammad Ikram, Dawood Shah, and other distinguished individuals.

Report by S M Irfan Tahir Photojournalist / Member National Union of Journalists (NUJ) Great Britain.

Related Articles

Back to top button